Better later than never

IMG_6641I’ve had this photo queued up to post for several weeks now and for some reason it never made it up…
seems to be my current memory pattern for extracurricular work as of late.

Anyway, this frame was from a football game I shot when it was still 100 degrees outside, which doesn’t give you much of a timeline in North Dakota.

Trenton-Trinity Christian was getting blown out by Beach. About halfway through the game I noticed the sky and how the clouds were forming in the west. So I made a mental note of it for later.

As the sky really turned colors, I slipped in behind a group of Trenton players who were discussing the play call and snapped off about a dozen frames, trying to hide the referee the best I could.

The above shot was the best and was the one I went with and ended up as a front page feature. It also had some good play up from the editorial director at Wick Communications (the Herald’s parent company) as one of the better sports features to appear in the chain’s paper.

For that, I was pretty humbled.

© 2013 Jerry Burnes/Williston Herald

Leave a Reply

