Fire sale

Gaffaney's

Breaking news really knows how to break up a relaxing Sunday night.

At about 7 p.m. I checked a phone to see a forwarded text from my managing editor saying Gaffaney’s Stationery was one fire. I was a little skeptical because a lot of times in Williston this turns into either a false alarm or a wild goose chase to nothing.

Regardless it was the first breaking news piece in weeks and probably ended up as the front-runner for our story of the year for 2013.

A lot of white smoke was pouring from the building when I arrived so I snapped some photos and left when even the firefighters were packing up.

Not even 10 minutes after I left my managing editor calls me and says the building was engulfed in flames. By the time I got back, another 10-minute-or-so process, the worst of the flames were gone.

Tough luck on that really. I never really know when to leave breaking news scenes but figured when the cops and fire department were wrapping things up, it was as good a time as any to do the same.

I was off Monday and unfortunately missed the building being razed as they poured water onto the ruins into the next afternoon.

© 2013 Jerry Burnes/Williston Herald

3 thoughts on “Fire sale

Leave a Reply

