Big Ten Road Trip 2: Amazing Blue

A day after my trip to Purdue I had the chance to shoot the Illinois-Michigan football game.

I couldn’t have asked for a better day. The weather was great, the lighting fantastic and I left the game feeling a lot better than the last NIU football game.

I left a few shots out on the field but none I’m kicking myself over. I was also drawing on some good luck, too.

Not only did I find a good spot on the first possession (all game, really) but the Wolverines awarded me with a big play on the first snap and a touchdown a few plays later.

The TD? Heisman Trophy candidate Denard Robinson scrambled for the score. He actually came right at me, which was great. That luck avoids me a lot during NIU games.

Overall an awesome experience. I love Big Ten football. It was good to get out and shoot with the big boys some. And get that confidence ready for Tuesday’s NIU-Ball State rivalry game.

Full gallery here.

© 2011 Jerry Burnes/Northern Star

Leave a Reply

