Drowning Hope

Today was disgustingly hot, which meant my feature hunting venture was going to lean toward air conditioning.

Thankfully the Women’s World Cup Championship was happening today so I headed down to Fatty’s in hopes some soccer crazies were out.

I got there right as the first United States goal was scored. There goes that celebration snap.

I did find a group of fans that were loud and really into the game, so sticking around them was an easy decision. The back-and-forth battle gave me some good reactions but when America’s sport sweetheart Hope Solo allowed three penalty kick goals, the mood was somber.

The reaction of the three guys I was photographing wasn’t what I was hoping for, not even close really. On the bright side, Adrian Gomez did me a favor and put his head in his hand and gave me my best shot of the game.

Unfortunate ending. Unfortunate photo outcome. Just a bad day all the way around at Fatty’s.

© 2011 Jerry Burnes/Northern Star

Leave a Reply

