Portrait Problems

I haven’t had the opportunity to shoot a lot of portraits in my time as a photographer. I know one day I should really grab a few friends and force them to model for me, but I just never do it.

Most of the Star’s portrait ops come in sports, something I know very well and something I generally have an idea of what I want to do.

The problem I usually hit is what I envisioned in my head never turns out correctly. Or the subject can never calm themselves down from nerves or shyness. Other times I just don’t go in with a backup idea or don’t know how to tell the subject what I’m wanting them to do.

What I really need to do is shadow a portrait shoot of someone who knows what they’re doing.

I posted the three most recent portraits I’ve done. I’m not terribly attached to any of them and not sure if I even think they’re any good at all .

Frustrating would be the best word to describe my feelings about my current portraits and the subject in general. I want to do more of them, but I’m finding learning portraits on the fly is a lot harder than I imagined.

Thankfully, I enjoy a challenge.

© 2011 Jerry Burnes

Leave a Reply

