Holy Toledo!

What a butt whoopin’ at Huskie Stadium Tuesday night. NIU routed arch rival Toledo 65-30 in front of a national TV audience on ESPN2.

Both teams were undefeated in the MAC West with cupcake schedules to follow. On paper, it was a battle for the MAC West title.

The game was unlike anything I have seen at NIU since my freshman year. The crowd was rowdy, the players were pumped up and the final scored was a nice payback for NIU’s 70-21 loss to the Rockets in 2007.

Shooting-wise the game was one that just didn’t go my way. I took up camp on the NIU sideline and nothing seemed to actually come my way. Nothing.

When it did, Tommy Davis returned a kickoff for a touchdown, I was in the middle of an interview with NIU legendary running back and current Chicago Bear Garrett Wolfe.

Go figure right? The one time I’m not manning the camera.

Well worth it though.

© 2010 Jerry Burnes

Leave a Reply

