The Mighty Blackhawks, part 2

The 300mm thankfully gave me a close enough shot on the ice that I wasn’t afraid of using them.

Now to the game, the Hawks went down 2-0 in the first five minutes and were down 2-1 after one. They stayed down 2-1 after the second period. Patrick Sharp tied the game shorthanded and with under two minutes to go Kris Versteeg beat Roberto Luongo to take a 3-2 lead. Patrick Kane finished an empty-netter for the 4-2 win.

During the final minutes a cameraman parked himself above us standing room only people (you can see his lens in the upper right of the crowd shot). I could barely see the Versteeg goal but he blocked the angle I wanted of the rally towels.

His presence did give me my favorite shots of the young Hawks fans going absolutely crazy. Go figure the shot I had of them jumping up and down was pretty out of focus, but I’ll settle for what I have.

All in all the photo experience was a learning one, the game was fun, and most importantly, the Hawks won.

© 2010 Jerry Burnes

Leave a Reply

