Horse of a different color

Horse Show Collage

Before I started dating my girlfriend I was pretty ignorant to what happens at horse shows.

I never realized the preparation that went into it, not to mention the falls. It’s a lot more than saddling up and riding a horse that jumps. There’s training, lots of falling, lots of physical positioning of almost every body part and more. Golf is almost as complicated.

So over the past 2.5 years I’ve learned all that. Now I’m learning how to shoot horse shows, and even that was complicated. A “good” photo isn’t just the horse at any part of the jump. Their legs have to be tucked as its going over. Kind of tough for a amateur photog.

This past weekend I went with Jen and her family to watch her sister Rosie show. This was the second show I shot but definitely got some better shots. Aside from action I decided to get plenty of the preparation. Which included, by the way, waking up at 5 a.m. and getting to the show in Wayne, Ill. at 7 a.m. to walk the course, prep and compete.

All in all a long day but a successful one as Rosie placed 8th in her class. Too bad this was the last one of the year.

© 2009 Jerry Burnes

One thought on “Horse of a different color

Leave a Reply

